Mega 360 Screws rusting

The Mega 360 power along with all my electronics are on a dedicated separate 125 Lithium battery. Then drain and ground are attached. Verified with an ohm meter the integrity of all wires back to ground and power. I had a previous Mega 360 mounted that the screws did not rust but I pinched the wires on the transducer cable, so the original was replaced, and now the new Mega 360 is rusting the screws. Just for the sake of making sure I re did the connection to the ground and the drains and power.

I have been running a dedicated battery setup for several years and this is the first issue with rusting screws.

Anything else I can check or do

2023 Phoenix 920 Elite
    2023 Mercury Pro XS 4S

2. Humminbird Moderator SLYDoggie's Avatar
    Are you sure both your negative and drain/shield wires are connected to negative/ground? Sounds like the drain/shield may not be connected.
    ---> Regards, Steve Yarbrough (AKA: SLYDoggieTN on YouTube)
    • Apex 19/16/13, Mega 360, and Mega Live
    • Minn Kota Ulterra Quest Trolling Motor
    • (2) Cannon Optimum Bluetooth Downriggers
    • Impulse Lithium Batteries... 36V 60AH for Trolling Motor, (2) 12V 120AH for Cranking & Electronics, 12V 60AH for Downriggers

3. Member
    Everything is connected and verified. If I go to drain/ground and the screws I get 11 ohms on a fluke doom

2023 Phoenix 920 Elite
    2023 Mercury Pro XS 4S

Quote Originally Posted by Beallright View Post
    Everything is connected and verified. If I go to drain/ground and the screws I get 11 ohms on a fluke doom
    Edited, the dedicated battery needs a water ground. When a starting battery is used, the negative is connected to the outboard's block so it has ground to water. You have to duplicate that by connecting the dedicated battery's negative to the outboard or starting battery negative.

That's the drain wire to chassis ground stated in the installation instructions.
    Last edited by Wayne P.; 09-13-2023 at 06:47 AM.