SmartCraft Fuel Level Gauge Setup Issue

Verado serial number is in my sig.

I can’t seem to get my SmartCraft SC1000/SC100 fuel gauge calibrated right. I’m using the default calibration option, programming in my 57 gallon fuel tank capacity, and with my tank full my gauge still only reads 58% or 37 gallons. It shows empty when I get down to about a 1/2 full tank.

I see a couple of old threads with similar issues but no resolution was ever posted.

There were a lot of issues with this rig when I first took delivery of it new 3 years ago, so I suppose it’s possible that the harness wasn’t connected correctly. I did a Master Reset on the SmartCraft and got the same results after calibrating again using the default setting and programming in a 57 gallon capacity tank.

Any ideas what the issue might be?
    Last edited by rpr; 07-24-2022 at 09:58 PM.
    2020 Triton 216 Fishunter
    Mercury V8 300 Verado (2B646603)

2. Member
    Quick updates.

I’ve confirmed the sender is wired correctly to the SmartCraft harness (still using the stock analog sender, it’s still connected to the green ground wire in the analog harness, and the pink sender wire from the analog harness has been replaced with the pink/black stripe sender wire from the SmartCraft harness).

I have a Rochester 9800 fuel sender. Specs show 30 ohms when full and 240 ohms when empty. I’m getting 64 ohms (at full). The gauge drops empty and gives me a low fuel warning when I still have ~30 gallons in the tank.

My tank is bulbous in the area where the sender is mounted, and the sender is not flat (might be at a 5 degree angle). I’m not sure if the tank was manufactured this way or if it expanded. It does build up a ridiculous amount of pressure on occasion. Quite a bit of venting when I pop the gas cap.