Power Wrapper for Sale?

Anyone have a power wrapper for sale? I have a feeling rod building is going to turn into what fly tying is to me now - a money pit, and I'd like to see what kind of passion this turns into before I sink a ton of cash into it.

Thanks,

Jim

2. Member
    I'd recommend just getting a hand wrapper, I've been using the same one since I started 15+ years ago. Probably build 30-50 rods a year and fix probably twice that amount.

3. Member
    What hand wrapper do you have if you dont mind me asking? I've been looking at the CRB Stuff.

4. Member
    CRB is ok. I've replaced the stands an carriage with those from Al Engling. Who's stuff can be found here https://www.facebook.com/groups/2133760100242133

Steve Dyer
    Mt. Pleasant, NC

5. Member
    I don't like the CRB stuff, I got one in a lot of rod building stuff I bought and didn't care for it at all. I've been using the Flexcoat one

6. Member
    The only thing I really feel like I would like a power wrapper for is doing long deco wraps in a split grip handle section, dragon scale over wrap or a base wrap that will get a cross wrap over it, something where I am gonna have 1500-2500 turns of the rod. Last rod I did, I just ran a tape arbor over the butt of the rod, chucked my drill up to the rod, and did a 7" base wrap in about 90 seconds. Worked slicker than snot. Using the CRB hand wrapping station with the steel V-stands and some hair binders to hold the rod, it was quick and easy. Other than that, I don't think I would be quite good enough wrapping guides to use a power wrapper.

7. Member
    I have the CRB hand wrapped and it’s alright. It gets the job done but the thread tensioner can be a pain. I only build 2-3 rods a year so it suits my needs.