Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Compressor Questions

‘13 250 ProXS.. decided to run compression and leak down.. compression was 120-124 and leak down was 1-2%. Decided to turn compressor pulley. Well, it has a rattle and a very rough spot at top of compression stroke. (Would post video if I knew how) Engine is running good, but I’m sure compressor it’s on its last leg.

1) where’s a good place to look for a reasonable priced compressor (if there is such a thing)
    2) even though compressor hasn’t failed, should injectors and rails be cleaned? Is this something I can do? (I’m a pretty decent mechanic)

and I plan on doing the work myself except priming the lines. And I will replace the small oil filters while I’m at it.
    ’13 21 HP, 250 ProXS, 10” Atlas, twin Power Poles, 25p Croxtonized Tempest, 2 1/2 PTP, 1/2 tank fuel, driver, all gear, empty wells, 74.7 in 102 deg heat.

2. Member
    No problem for you to replace compressor and clean rails yourself. Only way to feel good about whether or not metal made it past the rings to air side is if you disassemble compressor. You’ll need specialized equipment that you don’t have to flow test the injectors. My guess is you will find the rod end bearing failed and the crank journal chewed up with a lot of metal in the bottom of the compressor and the little in line filters full.

3. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Jtreed99 View Post
    No problem for you to replace compressor and clean rails yourself. Only way to feel good about whether or not metal made it past the rings to air side is if you disassemble compressor. You’ll need specialized equipment that you don’t have to flow test the injectors. My guess is you will find the rod end bearing failed and the crank journal chewed up with a lot of metal in the bottom of the compressor and the little in line filters full.