Traverse Bay Trip - Too Early?

I'm coming down to the wire and have to decide whether to push back my trip dates from 6/5-10 to the next week of 6/11-16. That's the latest I can push it back.
    I'm trying to hit the bigger fish moving into shallows. Not the spawn. I personally don't prefer bed fishing. So, from what I see and hear about the water temps, things are definitely behind schedule. At this rate, that extra week may not even have them up. But, I'm new to this and realize there are many factors at play. I don't mind fishing deeper on the breaks if they're not shallow. But, will they even have made that move with temps in the high 40's to low 50's? I know the guides and can catch them anytime. But, for looking for some advice for the best shot at the pre-spawn, shallows bite. I figured this would be the folks to ask.
    Thanks for any insights. They're greatly appreciated.

2. Member
    What are water temps right now?

3. Member
    From what I can gather, I'm seeing 43 in the West Bay and 41 in the East Bay. I understand that those temps will vary throughout the bay especially in the shallows. But, that still seems a bit chilly to me.

It's early, but I've seen some pics posted recently. Quality fish, but didn't hear anything about numbers. Takes long time for that bay to warm up.

5. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by smalliehound View Post
    From what I can gather, I'm seeing 43 in the West Bay and 41 in the East Bay. I understand that those temps will vary throughout the bay especially in the shallows. But, that still seems a bit chilly to me.
    Where do you find temps for the bays at? Every time I look I feel like all I can are find historical averages.

6. Member