Why Should I buy a $100+ Glide Bait?

So I've decided to give glide baits a try. What a shock it was to see that entry level glide baits cost anywhere from $15-$30. But the real shock was that many glide baits cost north of $100! You got to be kidding, I've been fishing for 50 years and never came close to buying a lure that costs that much.

So my question to anyone with an opinion is - just what does a $120 glide bait do that a $20 one can't? Why on earth should I bye a lure that costs as much as my monthly utility bill?

2. Member
    I have a $75 glide bait I won but I wouldn’t buy one that expensive. It looks really cool coming through the water.
    Red Sox in 6!

3. Member
    WOW! I bought several years ago a 5 pack for $15.95 + shipping of what I just googled and they say is a "glide bait." They looked different when I bought them for some reason than they did when hey arrived. I chalked it up to me being a dumbass and order anything to fish with but after reading this thread I might have to put them on the market for $49.95 each

Oh, and never caught anything but weeds on any of them.

4. Member
    Here's a short excerpt from a PM response to a fellow board member who is a beginner glide bait angler on this exact topic. I hope it addresses your question and provides a better answer than simply "Yes" or "No".

The true question I suspect you are asking is will I catch more fish with the Deps 145 because it's similar enough in size to my current confidence bait the: S-Waver 168, and further, will it have the sophisticated gliding motion found in the bigger Deps 175? The short answer is yes. So, what is the long answer?