Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

help driving past 50 mph

I posted on the hull truth and they kindly pointed me this way.

I just got 2021 21trx with the 4 stoke mercury 250. My last boat was a Ranger rt198p with a 150. i never had any problems driving it. its top speed was 60 in ideal conditions so i ran around 55 most of the time. no issues, no chine walking. it was a great ride for being an aluminum boat.

but this monster scares the absolute soul outta me. everything is fine up to about 55-60. after that i getr nervous im gonna need to be identified by next of kin.
    on my ranger i would trim all the way down to get on plane, then i would trim up till i got a big rpm boost then id leave the trim alone.

on this boat i do the same, but im new to having a trim gauge. i have about 5 years of driving experience, so im not a complete fng but im definitely new to this much boat.

i know you guys probably cant tell me exactly what my trim settings should be for full speed with out actually driving it but here is how its set up.

i have a manual jack plate that i haven't messed with yet, the dealer said that they adjust all the boats they get it to a good starting point depending on prop and motor.
    i have 2 power poles so i know that adds weight and probly takes off the top end. the prop is a 23p 3 blade fury and it gets on plane really well, boat breaks over at 2700 rpm and ive been told thats around where it should be.

im quite certain there isn't any issue with the boat, i just need more seat time. i think my problem is that im not trimming up enough after i get on plane. my last boat needed very little trim adjustment.

so i guess im asking for a rough idea of what my trim gauge should read to run 65-70?

2. Member
    Is it chine walk that’s gettin u? The X2 likes to have the prop deeper in the water, so check ur prop to pad measurement...3 1/4”-3 1/2” prop to pad is a good place to start for that boat.

3. Member