I'm the unknown stuntman todd_j's Avatar

New to me 2017 BF150 question on yearly service.

Hey guys I just purchased a new to me boat with a 150. I'm new to 4 strokes, only had two strokes up till now. The marina that has been servicing it is using 25/40 Mercury synthetic blend oil, oil change at marina is $140.
    Is there any reason why I can't go to an full synthetic mobile 1, amsoil or Lucas 10w30, and do it myself? Not looking to use cheap stuff, however, I can get two WIX filters and enough synthetic oil for two oil changes for $140. I noticed the manual calls for 10w30. It does not specify a filter, It just says compatible. When I asked the marina about it they said that's just what we have in the 55 gallon barrels, they use Mercury fluids for everything with Honda paper filter.
    Last edited by todd_j; 03-26-2022 at 04:54 PM.

2. Member
    You are correct about 10W-30. Here is what my manual Says about type of oil. It’s up to you, personally, if I’m spending thousands on a boat, why skimp out on maintenance products. JMHO
    “Honda recommends that you use API SERVICE category SG, or SH oil with the “starburst” certification mark displayed on the container.”

3. I'm the unknown stuntman todd_j's Avatar
    Could not agree more! I cant figure out why the marina would use 25/40 other than its cheap for them to get in bulk. Here is a nice chart for API SERVICE categories for reference.

Quote Originally Posted by bqtoot View Post
    You are correct about 10W-30. Here is what my manual Says about type of oil. It’s up to you, personally, if I’m spending thousands on a boat, why skimp out on maintenance products. JMHO
    “Honda recommends that you use API SERVICE category SG, or SH oil with the “starburst” certification mark displayed on the container.”
    Attached Images Attached Images

4. Member