Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Suggestions to keep uncle ned weedless?

So… I’ve been throwing the ned for only a few years and need to find a better way to keep the ned rig hang up free in the brush bass luv to hang in. Currently throw a ballhead jig with double weedguards. It works most of the time but I am tired of blowing up brush/trees while retrieving my hung bait. Anything you find that solves this? Thanks guys

Do a search on YouTube for the “tiny child rig”
    . Its basically a Neko rigged Ned bait.
    It’s much more snagless than a Ned head with brush guards.
    "If It Ain't Broke, You're Not Trying"- Red Green

3. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Sharpcard View Post
    ty…will give that a try. Makes sense.

If you're getting hung with double weed guards, that must be some gnarly stuff! Assuming you really are wanting a Ned-like presentation, I'd try downsizing the weight of your jig head first.

Not quite the same thing, but when I'm in a situation where a Ned is getting buried up in grass, it's a sign I'm fishing one that's too heavy. I think more generally you want to not be able to feel anything with the Ned rig, as tough as that may be. Admittedly there are times where I'm wanting to get it buried in grass so I can snatch it out and get reaction bites, but that's a different technique to me and I'm digressing anyhow as that's different than what the OP is fishing.
    2011 Skeeter ZX225
    225 Yamaha HPDI Series 2
    Minn Kota Ultrex 112 52"
    Console: HDS 16 Carbon
    Bow: HDS 12 Carbon, Solix 12 G2, Mega 360, Garmin 106 SV, LVS 34

5. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by DrewFlu33 View Post
    If you're getting hung with double weed guards, that must be some gnarly stuff! Assuming you really are wanting a Ned-like presentation, I'd try downsizing the weight of your jig head first.