Mega 360 and spider rigging

Not sure this is the right place for posting this question so please point me in the right direction if that's the case. I'm planning on adding a Helix12 and Mega 360 (if they're ever back in stock!!) and had a question for any crappie fishermen out there. How well does it work with spider rigging? I'm somewhat new to all this new technology so I was just wondering if the Mega 360 was an effective tool to use with spider rigging or if there was going to be interference with the lines/etc.

Appreciate any feedback you can provide..

Rebelkris76

2. Member
    Works great for spider rigging. Lets you see crappie ahead of you allowing you to steer your boat to them.

3. Humminbird Moderator SLYDoggie's Avatar
    I use it very effectively trolling at 2.5 MPH for Stripers with Downriggers and Planer Boards. Not exactly the same as spider rigging, because you would be going much slower, but that will just make the returns even better for you. I always have my Mega 360 sweep speed at 6 and use 455Khz frequency because that gives better range and better fish returns in the water column. I don't care about a "pretty" image. I only care about finding the schools of fish... That part is similar to Crappie fishing.

Since SI, DI, and 2D are all historical and only show you what you have passed over, Mega 360 is great in that you can see what is ahead and adjust course. The attached picture is a school of Stripers I was over but then saw the edge of another school coming up between 60' and 80' ahead at 11:00. That ended up being an even larger school which I would have missed if I were just relying on SI/DI/2D.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    ---> Regards, Steve Yarbrough (AKA: SLYDoggieTN on YouTube)
    • Apex 19/16/13, Mega 360, and Mega Live
    • Minn Kota Ulterra Quest Trolling Motor
    • (2) Cannon Optimum Bluetooth Downriggers