Help with HDS 12 Lives

Recently got a new to me boat that was rigged with two HDS 12 Lives and I am very new to lowrance. They are networked through a structure scan 3d box. One problem I am having is with the downscan on my console unit. It does not always work, and when it does the clarity is nowhere near what the sidescan looks like. Can someone please point me in the right direction of where to start? I've gone through most settings that to my knowledge would help, but at this point I just don't know these graphs that well. Thank you
    2019 Z519

2. Member
    There really aren’t many settings that can help you. Contrast and pallet are about it. Make sure when you are on the Downscan page, the source is This Unit. Other than that, if the Sidescan looks good and the Downscan looks bad you can’t really blame the mounting and need to consider that the Downscan elements inside the transducer are shot.

NoCAL
    2004TR-21X/2015 250 ProXS
    2B112175

can you post some pictures of the images by chance? we have seen a few 3d transducers go bad over the years. I'd reccomend eliminating the 3d module and transducer and direct networking the units together (one ethernet cable between the 2) and replace the 3d transducer with a 2n1 active imaging or a 3n1 active imaging transducer.

4. Member
    Huh, first recommendation I have seen to ditch the 3D for an AI. Tough sell for me. IMO 3D is still the top of the heap.

NoCAL
    2004TR-21X/2015 250 ProXS
    2B112175

5. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Hawg View Post
    can you post some pictures of the images by chance? we have seen a few 3d transducers go bad over the years. I'd reccomend eliminating the 3d module and transducer and direct networking the units together (one ethernet cable between the 2) and replace the 3d transducer with a 2n1 active imaging or a 3n1 active imaging transducer.