Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Leader knot protection

So I'm completely new to using braid with a leader. Pretty much all of my setups are now braid with leaders. I have a few tied with a double uni, one with the fg and one Alberto. Does anyone know of a way to protect the knot from the rod guides. My leaders are all between 18" and 2 feet. I know that the easy answer is to just not reel into the knot, but I'm an idiot, and it will happen more than it doesn't happen. Any ideas will be welcomed.

2. Member
    I was worried about "throwing" my knot when I switched and to be honest I haven't had any problems. I used to use the double uni knot but switched to the Alberto knot the past few years. I usually put my knot to where it is right at the reel and I can hook my bait on my rod by the reel. I'd say my leader is close to 12-14 feet. That way if I do break off I can re tie without having to replace my whole leader.

3. Member
    Recommend you try small dab of super glue on the knot and wipe it with paper towel to keep it small (vs built up like a bobber stopper shape) and thereby letting it go thru guides on your rod easier. For knots at the hook end, I use a bobber stopper on top of the knot when around rocks sometines.

My leaders are around 10’ long when new. If you tied a good knot to begin with you have nothing to worry about.
    Ranting incoherently

Using a modified Albright knot for years with no issues. If you want to try superglue, check to see if it's water resistant or water proof. The stuff I had was resistant and completely disappeared after a few casts

6. Member
    If you want to protect knots, Super glue works but it's a little stiff. I use a product from Loon called UV Knot Sense. It stays flexible.

7. Member