Fluid Bed and Powder Response...

Hello to all....

I have been making round head bass jigs for several years now, and recently started using a few homemade fluid beds for the powder coating process. I used to always take a few 2oz jars of the powder and poured the entire contents in a small Glad container with a lid. Fluff it up before dipping the jig heads in it and was relatively successful with that method. But after using a fluid bed, I switched to that and have never gone back. However, after trying a couple dozen jigs or so lately, I noticed that the powder is not fluidizing like it should. It looks like the powder has absorbed some moisture and won't boil like it should. In turn it doesn't coat the jig right either, inconsistent finish and thickness out of the oven.

Has anyone tried to dry this stuff out to restore it back to its "out of the jar" state? I hate to waste it if it can be salvaged. I am only dealing with black and green pumpkin. For whatever reason, the GP is the worst of the two.

Thanks for your help....
    Layton Strong
    Nitro State Team

2. Member