Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Looking to upgrade Lowrance HDS5

So I'm new to boating and new to fishing. I bought this Stratos 268FS a few weeks ago and took it out today with the sole purpose of getting accustomed to the Lowrance HDS5gen2.

I did some prep watching videos and what I came away with is y'all are playing with much better gear than this, which makes sense since it's tech and this is old tech.

I don't want to go nuts, but I'd love to get a much better down view and possible side view and structure scan.

Is there a reasonable upgrade that might use the existing transducer? I am not necessarily opposed to replacing the transducer(s). I believe there are two on this boat. Both glassed in in the bilge.

There is also a bow-mounted X48 that is in serious need of replacing. I'd love to get it all upgraded for <$1K.

There is also a depth finder gauge in the helm that is pretty much shot.
    Attached Images Attached Images

2. Member
    Other than the small size, that HDS is a good capable unit

3. Member
    Hmm. Maybe I should spend more time with it before parting with more benjamins.
    1998 Stratos 268FS, 1997 Evinrude 90
    Me being free trumps you feeling safe.

4. Member
    It’s not a bad unit but the only way to get side and Downscan is to find a StructureScan HD module and LSS 2 transducer.

NoCAL
    2004TR-21X/2015 250 ProXS
    2B112175

5. Member
    ^^^ and that should be fairly easy to find cheap

6. Member
    Roger. Thanks.

7. Member
    Is this a reasonable strategy?

Find another HDS5gen2 (HDS5X?) for the bow, or maybe an HDS7gen2 moving the existing HDS5gen2 to the bow. Dispose of the X48 with the broken display.
    LSS-2 Transponder
    HD Module.

Does that get me full-functionality (Sonar, shared waypoints, etc.) at both consoles if I ethernet connect them?

8. Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by Whipgenie View Post