Towing with a 2wd 4 Runner.

My wife is looking at a 2021 4 runner Premium with 2wd.
    My main towing vehicle is my 2014 F150 eco. I was just wondering if anyone has experience using a 2wd 4 runner?
    I would only use it when I absolutely have too. My main concern is pulling the boat out the water on a wet ramp with only 2wd.

Boat is a 19 foot BCB Pantera II.
    Any feed back would be appreciated.

Don
    2016 BassCat Pantera II
    Mercury 200 ProXs

I've been pulling boats up ramps for nearly 40 years and I've never owned a 4 wheel drive.

3. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by wareagle24 View Post
    I've been pulling boats up ramps for nearly 40 years and I've never owned a 4 wheel drive.
    Yep. I only had a hard time once and that was with a heavy watersoake pontoon on a steep ramp.

Father and grandfather always had a boat and never needed 4 wheel drive. I do not know much about the specific vehicle the OP asked about but 2 wheel drive in general will get it done. I guess if you use improvised ramps or use an icy ramp you might run into problems. I would not fret it especially if you have a half ton. I doubt you will even use the vehicle you asked about or could at least choose your half ton instead if going to an icy ramp or one made from dirt.

4. Member
    I tow a 20' with a tacoma (similar hp/torque) and it tows fine but it will never come up a ramp smoothly in 2wd. Wouldn't trust it at all in 2wd on a sandy or steep ramp.

I towed a PII with both a Tacoma and 4Runner with the 4.0L motor. Never needed 4wd on any ramp. It will work just fine.

USN Retired
    2020 Basscat Caracal
    2020 Mercury 225 ProXS 4s

6. BBC SPONSOR
    Have had 2 different 4-Runners (2007 and 2017) both have pulled my 20.5' Bass Boats with no issues ever. Both have been 2wd, 2007 sold w 200,xxx miles and other than basic maintenance the alternator went out at 200k. 2017 has over 100k already and no issues at all other than a door lock motor that died.