Outboard Motors to Look For in 2021

Hello,
    I have looked through several different sites on which outboard motors were good/bad already. Assuming the compression test and Leak Down Test are good what would be some motors to look for and ones to avoid. My budget right now is probably 8-12k and probably be between 1985-2010 years. I have also thought if the hull was good for bass fishing and the motor was not that great I might be able to get a new motor down the road also. Open to opinions :)

Would a Johnson/Evinrude still be serviced today and could you find parts easily anymore. A lot of the older boats such as late 90's Stratos/Rangers have older Johnson/Evinrude/Mercury's on them. I am new to outboards and trying to get somewhat of an idea of what a reliable motor will be. I do not need anything extremely fast either. I was thinking anything between a 70-150hp would do me fine as long as the motor was reliable and I did the preventative maintenance.

Thanks!

2. Member
    Avoid Force and FICHT...The rest of the motors from Yamaha, Merc and OMC are pretty reliable as long as they've been taken care of...Yamaha ProV, Merc XR6 or EFI, FastStrike etc can all last a real long time as long as they haven't been abused or neglected. Just make sure you get it checked out. If you can find something with an Opti or HPDI have them pull any codes, they're great motors but are a little more sensitive to neglect and the fuel/oil that's been run in them.

First thing I've done with every used boat I've bought is change the plugs, wires, water pump and LU gear lube. I'll also drain whatever gas came in it and start with fresh. Usually also a good idea to change the fuel lines and bulb.

3. Member