Suzuki DF 140 not reaching max rpm

I recently purchased a new boat that has a DF 140. A little back story, I’ve been running bass boats for 20 years. I’ve had a few Mercury Optimax’s and a couple Yamaha SHOs. I switched from a 21’ glass boat to a 18’ flat bottom aluminum boat with a jet. I just finished the break in period and noticed that I am only getting 5100 max RPM. Suzuki says I should be seeing 6000 rpm. I checked the throttle cable and it’s hitting the stop when the throttle is pushed all the way down. I wasn’t sure if it was a new motor thing and it will reach 6000 after being completely broken in. It does have a jet pump but everything I read is the RPM is not affected by a pump vs a prop. Suzuki Experts let me know how to correct this issue. I did creat an account on the Suzuki Outboard Forum but I can’t figure out how to creat a post on there. Thanks Tony

The Jet pumps are designed to run in the outboards intended power range, 5000 - 6000 RPM and I believe with you running at 5100 that is correct. It may come up some as the engine breaks in but probably not much.

I did a little more research and it looks like you are right where you need to be at for WOT with a pump. Some of the folks that posted number were only seeing 4900RPM at WOT. What kind of speed are you getting out of the boat? How is the holeshot? Most of the time the boats aren't set up properly and the engine is mounted too low. Now that has zero effect on the engine RPM but it will slow the bot down and cause plenty of spray.
    Last edited by JoePA; 07-28-2021 at 08:59 AM.
    Joe Galada - Tamaqua, PA
    2004 Ranger 521VX - Yamaha 250 SHO