New Ranger with Lithium Cranking Battery

Stopped at a Cabela's yesterday and they had a new Ranger with a 250 ProXS and Tracker lithium cranking battery. Has something changed from Mercury?
    Last edited by WranglerSS; 07-29-2021 at 05:07 AM.
    2013 Bullet 21XRD
    2020 Mercury 300R 1E080760
    3 Garmin 126SV
    LVS34/LVS32
    Ultrex with iPilot Link
    8' Raptors

Aren't they the same ones who sent flyers with some boats claiming the motors were "factory" filled with Lucas oil ???
    When your the largest --- what does it matter... I doubt mercury will buck them. May start seeing some warranties denied is all.

No, nothing has changed from merc, I'm not a lawyer but I assume white river is taking all responsibility for factory installed items.
    Mercury 250 proxs 2B115089

4. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by WranglerSS View Post
    Gas something changed from Mercury?
    NO.

AGM BATTERY REQUIREMENT (NO LITHIUMS) FOR 150 and LARGER 4-STROKE- UPDATED 4/23/2021

_______

Phil
    '09 Hewescraft ProV
    '09 150 Optimax

5. Mercury 3L/4 Stroke/Verado Moderator EuropeanAM's Avatar

Dual Mercury Master Technician- for Mercury Outboards, Mercruiser and Mercury Racing at European Marine in Greenville, SC.
    Still consider myself a "Marine Apprentice" after 47 years (learn something new every day).
    Mercury Parts, Mercury Outboards, Smartcraft & Accessories, Injector Service, TDR Reeds- BBC Sponsor

Agreed. Don't run it. The risk is not worth it unless you have wired up your alternator or stator in such a way to handle the circuitry that lifepo4 batteries has and understand the way those setups work. At that point, however, you may as well kiss your warranty goodbye.

I went down this road recently and eventually found what I mentioned above. In short, don't do it and ask for a replacement AGM in place of the Lithium if you are going to buy that particular boat.
    - 2020 Bass Tracker Classic XL - SOLD
    - 2024 Lowe Stinger 178