I am new to a Yamaha motor, and have a couple questions!

I just recently purchased a boat that has a 150 Yamaha Vmax. I’m not sure of the exact model, but it’s got a separate oil tank that you fill inside one of the compartments of the boat.

My question is, if I haven’t started the motor for a couple
    days, it takes about 3 to 5 minutes to get started. It has a priming bulb and gas line that was replaced right before I bought the boat. Brand new spark plugs installed before I bought the boat. Once the engine gets started the first time in a day, it starts right up every time the rest of the day.

Does anyone have tips on how to get the motor started a little faster at the beginning of an outing? I’ve never
    had an engine with a priming bulb before, what are some best practices around that as well?

Thank you!
    Andrew in KC

2017 Nitro Z17 - 115 Mercury Four Stroke Command Thrust

Garmin Echomap Plus 93SV UHD at Console / 2 Garmin Echomap Plus 93SV at Bow with Livescope

Heart Transplant Recipient - March 30, 2017! God bless my donor, and donor family!

2. Member
    I suspect that you have a V150. With carburetors. There are many other different kinds of V MAX motors.

Is the manual choke working? If so, is the electric choke working just like the manual choke works?

Have you tried experimenting with differing throttle openings?

Is the primer bulb pumped to the firm position before cranking the motor?

Is the motor positioned straight up and down before cranking it?

3. Member
    I’m used to having a Mercury 4 stroke. I’m not even sure what the manual chokes is on this motor. While turning the key, I did press in the key. I think that has some kind of choke ability.

Can you please explain what the manual choke is and what else I should look for?
    Andrew in KC

Garmin Echomap Plus 93SV UHD at Console / 2 Garmin Echomap Plus 93SV at Bow with Livescope

Heart Transplant Recipient - March 30, 2017! God bless my donor, and donor family!