Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Pontoons... Advice Needed!

I'm looking at buying a good used pontoon boat for my family to enjoy. I am new to pontoons and don't know much about them at all. Any experts in here? What brands would you recommend me looking at? Any specific features are "must haves"? I know I want a top on it to provide some shade. I would like to be able to pull a tube behind it. Is there a minimum size motor that I need to have? Are there advantages of having three hulls instead of two? Any help or advice you can give me is much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

2. Member
    if the family will want shade go ahead and get the double top. two, 8'ers.

2 logs suck at speed or any performance. With a 2 log, there is not much difference between a 50hp and a 90hp. You can pull a tube, just have to prop it right and use what you have.

3 log if you can swing it, biggest motor you can get, and lifting strakes on the logs if you can.

Ride on a few. it takes some getting use to. Slow. No fun to tow or load. But a great platform to play on.

3. Member
    Try to get a tritoon the difference in ride and handling is worth the money. Get as much horsepower as you can, under powered pontoon is no fun. Pontoons are hard to find right now either used or new, I’ve had one ordered since April!

Tri-toons are head and shoulders better than 2 log toons. The ride is better, performance is better, some tri-toons you can slalom ski behind they're so nimble. They will also outrun many bowriders. I sold a 26' tri, powered by a 300 Verado that would GPS 62 mph! Grandpa's old 2 logger is still fun but most folks now prefer the tri-toon.

(606)305-1956

5. Member
    Find one in your budget with at least a 90 hp, it will do what your wanting.