Holeshot issues mercury 3.0 225

First post !99 mercury 225 efi 0g824872 s/n just got the boat noticed sluggish take off on water plows for 45 seconds or better, I am only getting 10psi on water at wot ,just installed new water pump I thought that number was low havent had it out sense the new one installed. Trimmed all the way down and flooring it I only get 2000rpm it has at 25 tempest plus on it with one vent out and the other 2 drilled it's on a 99 tr-21 . Is this normal to take that long to plane?

2. Member
    That is not normal, don't run it again until you run some tests. I'm no expert, so you will have to be patient and wait for the gurus to reply. Keep in mind it is a holiday weekend and they also have full time jobs. You're in the right place to get this figured out!

3. Member
    Thanks it idles perfect and runs great when it gets on plane w.o.t is 5800. I'm hoping I didn't get screwed on this boat purchase haha, I bout one last year and 6th time out it blew turned out that boat was pieced together.

4. Member
    nope that should be a 4 shutter intake on that one, check it , got boat just like it 2000 model had same mtr ,start with basics , you pay for it before you drove it ???????
    .................................................. ...the scariest thing in life is the unknown ...................................

5. Member
    When I test drove ran great bought it from a elderly man that can't get in it anymore he hadn't used in several years

6. Member
    I also looked its a 2 shutter

Quote Originally Posted by Rookieangler View Post