Exclamation 2005 225 Merc Pro XS issue

1. 1b117736
    2. 2005 Pro XS
    3. 25p Tempest

Hey everyone, I'm new to not only these forums but bass boats in general. I've recently purchased my first boat (2005 Ranger Z20). I've had the boat only a week and so far have experienced nothing but issues. I'll share everything that's happened just incase its pertinent. Boat ran great when I test drove it, I also requested a compression check and a read out of any history on the motor. Compression came back great so I went forward with the purchase, the motor has 160 hours on it and nothing out of the norm was found by the mechanic when checking it out. Once I got the boat home I've taken it out 2-3 times just to get comfortable with the boat an hour or two at a time, it took a little time to get the motor trim portion dialed for taking off but after that it was smooth sailing. Once I started fishing the trolling motor would die after about 20 minutes (happened twice) so I took it to a boat mechanic to get the batteries checked, the mechanic said all the batteries are good and told me he tightened some of the connections on the batteries and knocked some corrosion off and told me to try again. He also suggested I change the cranking battery as it was "the wrong type battery". He explained that the battery that was currently installed was not going to be able to handle the charging current that the pro XS was going to deliver so I bought and installed a new battery per his suggestion. So today I took the boat out to test the trolling motor and to my surprise 2 or 3 minutes after taking off it went from WOT to bogging down. It was as if I let off the gas to slow down, but I wasn't. No alarm happened at this point. I pulled the cowl to look for obvious signs of an issue, didn't see anything. The motor was pissing water like normal, I checked the oil reservoir and made sure all the clip connections were in place, all seemed fine. I try to get going again and the boat will not g