Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

USA Mercury 250 EFI smoky start up and rough idle in NC

My first post ... I have the exact same problem as "sportcraft" did in 2015. My starboard 2001 Mercury 250XL EFI serial number 0T397443 has a very smoky start up, rough idle and occasional sneezing at idle after coming off plane. Both engines run awesome at cruise and wide-open throttle. Approximately 400 hours on the trouble engine. I have read through the thread titled "first post....2001 Mercury EFI 250 rough idle issue and smoky start up" posted by 'sportcraft' on 06/27/15 multiple times and I don't see where there was a final solution. I was hoping to start there. My service manual is in route. Would appreciate a recommendation for a marine diagnostic scan tool for this engine. Can anyone help? I am a rookie forum user. Hopefully I will get better!

2. Mercury 3L/4 Stroke/Verado Moderator EuropeanAM's Avatar
    The Diacom system is a decent system for the money. Lots of bang-for-the-buck.

A good starting point would be to check the crankcase pressure check valve (for the remote oil tank), AND check the Fuel Pressure (or better yet, monitor it from start, through a run, and when returning to idle).

Also a good idea to check the other basics: Compression Test, Spark Test (including inspection of the QL77CC Spark Plugs), and fuel Quality, Delivery (and pressure) tests.

Verify that both banks of the engine are coming up to temperature properly.

Dual Mercury Master Technician- for Mercury Outboards, Mercruiser and Mercury Racing at European Marine in Greenville, SC.
    Still consider myself a "Marine Apprentice" after 47 years (learn something new every day).
    Mercury Parts, Mercury Outboards, Smartcraft & Accessories, Injector Service, TDR Reeds- BBC Sponsor

3. Member
    Thank you sir! I will check each of these items and respond when I have accurate info for you!

4. Member