2008 Ranger 188VX prop questions

Hopefully someone can help out a newbie here. I have bought a new to me 2008 Ranger 188VX. I bought it from a dealer on a cold windy rainy day and against my better judgement I didn’t put it on the water first. When I did, I noticed it is a fat pig on the holeshot and takes forever before it quits plowing and gets on plane. Once it planes it absolutely flies. It is equipped with a Yamaha VMAX 175 HPDI On a hydraulic jack plate and a 3 blade 15-1/8 x 25 pitch prop. This is the first boat I’ve ever owned with an outboard on it and the only one I’ve ever driven with a jack plate. To me it seems like it is way over propped and I have no idea where I should have the jack plate set for takeoff. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

2. Member
    I would check your prop to pad and see where its at. A compression test on the motor so you will know where its currently at. Also a 4 blade prop will holeshot better but loose a little speed up top. Do you know the max rpm for your motor and also are you getting max rpm at full throttle?
    97 Ranger r82 with 05 honda bf150, Helix 10 mega link with 1198c, Ultrex 80. Fish hard and keep hooking.

3. Member
    Need more info - What is your max rpm's when running down lake - speed. What name prop - (pic). Are you trimming all the way in. Is it slipping on hole shot - what are rpm's
    when it breaks over .

4. Member
    FYI I have the same rig minus the jack plate and mine has a 23 pitch prop...good luck with the new boat!

5. Member