2017 ProXS 175 Replaced impeller and added VesselView Mobile - now won't start

SN: 2B401702

Just ran the boat last weekend and didn't have any problems. It only has 93 hours on it but I decided to do the water pump and installed VesselView Mobile this week. I doubt VesselView has anything to do with it but that's the only time I touched the motor so I figured I'd mention it. I also made sure that the impeller was installed in the correct orientation. The outboard now cranks but won't start.

I'm very new to boats but I imagine it's the same as any other engine. Not sure what else I can check besides fuel and spark or why this even happened from just replacing the impeller. Maybe from sitting in the rain for the past couple days?

• It's in neutral and prop spins freely - fwd/rev lock the prop as usual
    • Kill switch is good
    • Battery above 12v
    • Fuel pump primes and primer bulb is stiff
    • Four fuses on the starboard side were good
    • Will test for ignition tomorrow

Any other ideas?

Note that this is the first time I've put earmuffs on it and tried starting it on land. That's probably irrelevant though.
    Last edited by viet; 04-16-2021 at 02:05 AM.

2. Member
    terminator reinstalled
    .................................................. ...the scariest thing in life is the unknown ...................................

3. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by JOE54 View Post
    terminator reinstalled
    Yes, I reinstalled the yellow terminator. I also tried removing VesselView and it didn’t make a difference.

Following
    2018 Nitro Z18
    175 HP Merc ProXs
    16ft Monark - all Electric (70#bow, 2x45# stern)

5. Mercury 3L/4 Stroke/Verado Moderator EuropeanAM's Avatar
    Charge the battery again (fully) and verify clean, properly stacked and tight terminal connections. If voltage drops too much when starter is spinning, the MPR (Main Power Relay) will open, resulting in no fuel and no spark (even though the starter is spinning).