Yo-Zuri Hybrid 15lb

I picked up a 600yd spool of Yo-Zuri Hybrid 15lb from the local Sportsman's Warehouse the other day to use for some tip ups and my swimbait/deep diver/toothy fish rod with an old school Bantam Curado 200B5. I figured it would be a step up from the Sunline Super Natural have been using, but after setting it up on the tip ups I am not so sure. It seems to have a ton of memory and is quite thick in diameter. Is this stuff worth spooling up on the reel? I was under the impression it was good stuff, anybody have experience with it? Luckily the spool was only $9.99 so I am not out a fortune.

2. Member
    I've been using it for the last year or so. Have had good luck with it on casting gear. I use the 15# for moving/walking baits and crank with 12. Diameter/pound test is a little high, but you can go down to in rated # test and get the diameter you're looking for and not loose breaking strength. Thankfully, I have no experience with tip ups. lol. Stay warm!!

The breaking strength and diameter of the line is off a bit. 6 is like 8. 10 like 12 etc... So if you like 15 go to the 12 and you will get what you with smaller diameter.

4. Member
    Good to hear, I will give it a go this spring and see how it does on the casting rod, if anything now I know I can go down in size. They had plenty in stock in all sizes, for the $9.99 a spool it might be worth buying a handful of sizes. I am just a little leery jumping all in before trying it. As far as the tip ups go, this is my first year using them. I had to give in to ice fishing as winter has set in hard and I needed something to do!

The floro coating would be stiff in the cold weather

This is a good line and has many uses and is very strong and reliable

6. Member
    In my experience, the YZH is a great line up to 12 pound test (stated breaking strength of 19 lbs). The 15 lb and up gets tough to manage though...

7. Member