Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Power for humminbird 5 port ethernet

I am about to install the 5 port in my 2002 Pro Craft 185 Pro. I was wondering if anyone could help me with a power connection or if I just need to run the power to the cranking battery? I am still a newbie to some of this "do it yourself" boat stuff and I don't want to mess anything up. Thanks in advance!

Jay

2. Member
    It needs to be ran all the way to the cranking battery directly. I would recommend a disable link at the console that is accessible. If it is legged of any other circuits or devises if will not function at optimal level. A fish tape is your friend on this project. Good luck sir.

3. Member
    Thanks 5 Bass - How do I set up a disable link at the console?

4. Member
    Can I convert my horn to a switch?

5. Electrical/Wiring/Trolling Motors Moderator CatFan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bama_bassin View Post
    Can I convert my horn to a switch?
    Your horn is legally required equipment.
    If you have integrity, nothing else matters. If you don't have integrity,
    nothing else matters.​

6. Member
    understand on the horn, i was just trying to find a way to add a switch. I am not sure how as I am a rookie here..... any help would be greatly appreciated.

I have been told not to directly wire it to the cranking battery as it will be a constant drain on the battery. The note above says to add a disable link, but I am unsure of what that is (an on/off switch??). How / where would I mount that switch and do I need to fuse it? If I need to fuse it, how do I do that?

I am sorry for all the questions....I just want to do it myself to learn....but I don't want to mess it up either...

Really appreciate all the input and help!

J

7. Electrical/Wiring/Trolling Motors Moderator CatFan's Avatar
    understand on the horn, i was just trying to find a way to add a switch. I am not sure how as I am a rookie here..... any help would be greatly appreciated.