What scope would you choose?

Picked up a Weatherby 300 WBY Mag at a good price with 1 inch rings and am hoping to add a scope. Mainly for Elk Hunting

Here are 2 choices that I have in my range. The Athlon is about $100 more. I have some Diamondbacks and I know they are good scopes but have no experience with Athlon. Any advice is appreciated

1. Vortex Diamondback 4-12X40

2. Athlon Optics Talos BTR 4-14x44

2. Banned
    Wife removed the Weaver scope that came with her Savage 6.5 Creedmoor,with the Vortex 4-12x40 looks good compared to the Weaver...Have no idea about the other you are looking at.

I myself like Leupold take a look at them.Made in USA.

3. Member
    I have a Vortex Diamondback 4x16 side focus on my 6.5 Creedmoor and think it is a very good scope for the money. Not a Leupold but cost less if compared to the better Leupold models.

I have no idea experience with an Athlon so cannot make a comparison.
    2020 Triton 18 TRX
    Tournament Fishing Package
    2020 Mercury 200 Pro XS V8 Serial # 2B588923
    Minn Kota Ultrex 80# I Pilot Link
    Hi Jacker EZ 6" Jack Plate
    Bravo 1 FS 24 Pitch Prop
    Humminbird Helix 7 SI GPS CHIRP G2 Bow
    Humminbird Helix 7 CHIRP MEGA GPS DI G3 Console
    Trick Step Boarding Steps
    RMP Engine Support

Another vote for Leupold , I have 4 of them. Never tried a Vortex scope but if they are anything like thier binoculars which I do own are incredable for the money.
    Proud Army Dad

Everything I own is Nikon and have never had an issue with scopes, rangefinder, or binoculars. As Nikon is now out of the scope business, I will be going Leupold from here on. I’m getting set to buy a VX5 HD for my new Browning. I’ve wanted to like the Vortex but I just don’t think they’re on par with the Leupold in comparable models and price ranges. The new VX3 HD will be available soon if you’re interested in a 40mm scope. You can see them on the Midway USA website now but you can’t purchase them yet.

6. Member