DURA-CRAFT / TRIM HELP

I have a 2008 1654 Dura-Craft Crappie boat with a 60 Mercury efi 4 stroke on it. My problem is i have just about no trim at all. If it is tucked under and you take off & hit the trim just a little that is it. Boat will do 37 mph at 6 thousand rpm's with the 60 on it & i'am not complaining about that. But the lack of trim has me concerned it is little to nothing.
    Would some Vance 2 degree spacers help this boat. I have no knowledge of these but i have read about them helping other boats that had little to no trim. It does have a Permatrim foil that i put on it. Without the foil it would porpoise at top speed it does not do that now at all the Permatrim foil stopped that and it holds the boat straight & true & comes out of the hole great. The motor is in the last hole all the way down. Did not check PTP.
    I have had a lot of boats but i never had one with the lack of trim that this one has. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. Member
    Could be a tired trim cylinder or pump?? You never said if it actually can get all the way to the top of the trim piston or not? Does it work OK on the trailer, all through the full cycle? with weight on the motor on the upswing? Trim pumps/seals can go bad. Luckily on that motor, it is pretty easy to find rebuilt, or used ones and replace the whole module. Might be worth checking. The whole porpoising thing is probably a function of weight distribution and motor height more than anything. Most boats (most) should be able to run without a trim foil normally, if loaded and motor height are set up correctly. Good luck man...

3. Member
    Trim works perfect in the water or out of water. All seals & fluid is spot on. I need to check PTP. The motor is all the way down on the transom. That could be part of the problem.
    Still need to know if anyone has used the Vance 2 degree transom wedges.

4. Member