Thread: Hey Bullet guys

Hey Bullet guys

I was reading the post on how fast have you gone in a bass boat and see many of ya'll with 80+ speeds.
    I'm new to bass boats and was wondering what makes Bullet boats so damn fast.
    So far my Stratos hasn't even hit 60, but someday I'll get her up to 62
    Anyway, whats the deal?
    Cheers,
    2003 Stratos 185, Yamaha V150LTRB, Tempest Plus 25P

2. Member
    Light weight hull + fast hull design + light weight high horsepower 2 stroke = fast. That's about all I know. Below is from their website.

The Story Behind a
    BULLET BOAT
    Hand laid & Core Construction Methods

Bullet Construction:

The more you know about the construction of a Bullet Boat, the greater insight you will have into the unique advantages that result from building a very strong although lighter weight boat. A few of these are: awesome fuel economy on the water or towing, fantastic performance and handling and durability for many, many years.

The method used in the construction of Bullet Boats is termed "hand lay-up," more specifically, hand lay-up utilizing "sandwich core" construction. By applying material by hand, large continuous layers of glass fabrics can be utilized for a distinct advantage in construction. Precise calculations can then determine which glass material at what exact weight should be placed in specific areas of the boat.

The same principle holds true for resin applications. Precise application of resins -- just enough to saturate the strands -- eliminates weakness and brittleness in composites due to excessive resin. Too much resin adds unnecessary weight to the boat and at the same time reduces its strength.