Mounting Solix transducer new bay boat Avid 23FS

All of the boats at my dealer have the transducers mounted directly to the transom medial to the lifting stakes. I was interested in mounting the transducer to the hydraulic Atlas Jack plate for a few reasons. I wouldn't have to drill any holes in the boat, it looks better IMO and I can route the wire along the jack plate and not have stray wire running up my hull. I was kind of drawn to the idea of the "Spring back mounts" but at minimum I like the adjustable mounts. I don't want to have to remount if I don't get the angle right the first time.

I am a complete NEWB when it comes to owning a boat. I feel confident in my ability to mount a transducer and run the wires, I just don't know the best way to do it.

The transducer face has to have water contact to broadcast sound in the water and sense the return echoes.
    Does your jackplate come close enough to the hull bottom that you can attach the transducer to it and have water contact all the time?
    Looks is irrelevant if there is no function.
    Wayne Purdum
    Charlottesville, Va.
    Helix 12 CHIRP MEGA+ SI G3N/G4N, Helix 15 CHIRP MEGA SI+ GPS G4N
    SOLIX 12 SI/G3, Helix 8 CHIRP MEGA SI+ G4N, Ultrex 80/LINK, MEGA360,
    MEGA LIVE, LIVE TL

3. Member
    I don't have my boat yet, just doing a little planning. Here is a picture I took of how either AVID or the dealer is installing them. If I need to mount it like they have that is not a problem, I just prefer to run the cable differently. I'd probably opt to mount it to a glued on piece of starboard over drilling the aluminum, unless that is not good either. The transom is 25", so I don't know if that will have my jack plate sitting higher than a traditional 20" transom on boats like this. I'd also like something that looks a little better than those screwed in cable ties... I agree function is more important than looks.