Dustlane

296TF fishfinder mount?

I have a 2001 296TF and I’ve been running a Ballzout mount for a few years with a 9” fishfinder and it has been fine. However, I recently upgraded to a 12” Lowrance unit and the vibration is terrible. I have it mounted next to the dash on the gunwhale and I used a metal backing plate under the gunwhale for extra support. Under idle that thing almost makes you sick trying to read it unless I hold it with my hand. Do any of y’all know of a dash mount that will work with my boat? I haven’t been able to find anything online. I was thinking of trying a Ram mount but I don’t want to spend the money and end up with same result.

2. Member
    8A964544-62BD-4E44-BF42-7497D992DC4D.jpeg
    Quote Originally Posted by dustlane View Post
    I have a 2001 296TF and I’ve been running a Ballzout mount for a few years with a 9” fishfinder and it has been fine. However, I recently upgraded to a 12” Lowrance unit and the vibration is terrible. I have it mounted next to the dash on the gunwhale and I used a metal backing plate under the gunwhale for extra support. Under idle that thing almost makes you sick trying to read it unless I hold it with my hand. Do any of y’all know of a dash mount that will work with my boat? I haven’t been able to find anything online. I was thinking of trying a Ram mount but I don’t want to spend the money and end up with same result.
    ballzout makes a great mount, but I did like my Ram mount with a 12 inch on it.

3. Member
    Terrible picture-sorry!

4. Dustlane
    That’s exactly where mine is mounted but the vibration almost makes me sick trying to read it. I may try to find a buddy that has a ram mount to borrow to see if that helps.

5. Member
    The ram does a great job there. TOC has the same set up

6. Dustlane
    Is that the swing arm type ram mount or the big ball mount?

7. Charger Boats Moderator TOUCH OF CLASS's Avatar