Hook2-7x Tripleshot transducer mounting/breaking issue

Hi All -

I bought a Hook2-7x GPS Tripleshot and mounted it on my TR-18. Initially the sidescan didn't seem to work so I sent it in to Lowrance and they repaired it, apparently there was some software bug. Got it back on Friday and took it out the next morning - all seemed to be fine until I lost all signal from it. Turns out that the transducer broke off at the point where it mounts to the hull (see photos).

At first I thought I'd mounted it incorrectly, now as I search the internet I find many people complaining of the same issue. What do I do? Thankfully Lowrance is sending me a new transducer free of charge, but I fear that if I simply re-attach it I'll have another broken transducer in no time.

I'm no expert at installing transducers but believe it was installed more or less correctly, with the center line of the transducer roughly even with the bottom of the hull.

IMG_0536.jpgIMG_0645.jpg

2. Member
    This board sponsor has the solution:
    https://rytekmarine.com/collections/...nt-coming-soon

3. Member
    When mine broke, I trimmed off the top edges and drilled a 1/4 inch hole thru it just above the transducer . Had to bend out the mounting bracket where it would get low enough install the bolt back thru it. Re installed on my boat and it is working great, even read depths while running at speeds. I had done this with trolling motor transducer broke the same way. Both are working great. In fact, the transom transducer is much stronger now with out that long neck on it.

4. Member
    Thanks but I'm not sure what you mean. Do you have a picture? thanks

5. Member