Helix 12 G3N Map question

I have 2 Helix 12 G3N units linked and the External GPS Compass installed. While not moving my map still spins. The boat icon remains constant but will not show the correct direction i am facing. Im new to Hummingbird and came from Lowrance with NEMA installed.

Is this common or should I check my install?

Thanks

I am also sharing the external GPS between both units

Do you have the AS GPS HS antenna and use the Head-up Chart Orientation?

Did you test for a magnetic interference free location before you installed the antenna?
    Wayne Purdum
    Charlottesville, Va.
    Helix 12 CHIRP MEGA+ SI G3N/G4N, Helix 15 CHIRP MEGA SI+ GPS G4N
    SOLIX 12 SI/G3, Helix 8 CHIRP MEGA SI+ G4N, Ultrex 80/LINK, MEGA360,
    MEGA LIVE, LIVE TL

3. Member
    Yes to the 1st question and it was installed at the dealer on my new boat, so no I personally did not check

I went out yesterday and checked the Heading digital readout to the COG digital readout and they were spot on as per the instructions.

I have noticed while running down the lake that my boat icon seems to be a little crooked. Could this be the issue and adjusted in the offset settings?

Thanks Wayne
    Last edited by Vols824; 09-24-2020 at 12:21 PM.

4. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Vols824 View Post
    Yes to the 1st question and it was installed at the dealer on my new boat, so no I personally did not check

I went out yesterday and checked the Heading digital readout to the COG digital readout and they were spot on as per the instructions.

I have noticed while running down the lake that my boat icon seems to be a little crooked. Could this be the issue and adjusted in the offset settings?

Thanks Wayne