Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Soft plastics for brush pile crappie

Is there a best style? size? color? Give me your experiences please, as I am new to this and in a Monkey Milk rut.

Tough question to answer. How big are the fish? How deep? I typically use 1/32-1/16 jigs that I tie. Simple chenille and marabou. For plastics I have twisty tail, straight tail, and some minnow looking things from 1.5 to 2.5” long. I don’t get wrapped up with brand names. They vary from town to town. For colors I use light or dark. I tie several but yellow vs pink with purple flake never seems to matter. If bright isn’t getting it done I put on a dark one. Probably not much help but it’s almost lake specific. Don’t get caught up in the minutia. I also use a slip float for depth control if I’m not using a long pole to dip them into brush.

3. Member
    12-15" and 10 to 18' deep depending on if they are above the brush or down towards the bottom.

I vertical jig for them in deep water. Lots of times i just sink it under the transducer and hang it motionless. 1/16 jig with a 2” Bobby Garland Baby Shad if I want plastic. Dark or light depending. Yellow, chartreuse, blue, black. Prepare to lose a bunch fishing in the sticks. That’s why I went to pouring my own. I use super glue on them to keep from sliding down and tearing. They last longer. The 12-15” are what I normally get.

Bait profile is more important than color. Find the active fish.
    "Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt."

6. Member
    We have found that a shad profile usually outfishes typical tube profiles. As for colors around here, black/chart, black/pink, monkey milk, and electric chicken is mostly all we use. BUT, when we have clients on Toledo Bend, minnows outfish jigs almost every single day.

7. Member