Thread: Hand Steer TM

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hand Steer TM

I'm considering switching from Fortrex foot control to hand steer on mt RT188. Anybody done this or have his set up ? The bow "feels" tight and I wonder if changing would help . I have a Master Repair extension that fits the shaft of the hand steer to eliminate leaning forward to change direction. Add a Big Foot on off switch for convenient on /off. Appreciate the comments.
    Last edited by lukethedog; 08-30-2020 at 01:13 PM.

2. Member
    Had hand steer on a bay boat. They suck.

3. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Cbump View Post
    Agree 100% .

In the late 1980's, my buddy at Santee had a hand control TM on his Ranger. During our annual trip there, he had to go to work one day and let me use his boat. I had a foot control on the 16 foot Fisher Marine Marsh Hawk that I had at home. So, for the first two hours I used his TM, I HATED IT! After that, it was a breeze and I have owned nothing but hand control TM's ever since. To me, a hand control has many advantages over a foot control TM. I can stand on both feet when the water is rough. I can turn around and cast to the rear without twisting around like a pretzel. And, there are far fewer parts to break and require service. That being said, the spot lock feature of the new TM's might change the equation for me on my next boat...I haven't decided.

By the way, I would STRONGLY recommend the T&H Marine Sure Foot on/off switch over the Big Foot. The T&H version has a hard plastic cover over the button and, as a result, they will last many years longer than the Big Foot switch that has the rubber cover on the switch exposed to the elements. I always put an on/off switch on each side of my deck so that I could easily reach it no matter which side of the boat I was fishing out of.
    Last edited by Jeff Hahn; 08-31-2020 at 08:17 PM.