Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Johnson 150 carb rebuild

I have a 1985 Johnson 150 that I’m gonna rebuild the carbs on, I was wondering do you guys do a basic needle and seat, gaskets and float rebuild or do you tear them completely down and replace every o ring etc? The kits I bought have several o rings that the videos I’ve watched doesn’t cover on where they are and how to get to them. I’ve rebuilt several car carbs and engines, but this is my first attempt at a boat carb and can’t seem to find any in depth videos on a complete tear down if that’s what’s needed.

2. Ohio Fishing Reports Moderator omcforever's Avatar
    An OMC service and repair is your friend.(not Clymer or Seloc) When doing them, follow the procedures in chapter 2. The complete kits(only use OMC/BRP parts) cover a few models so there may be a few parts you wont use. Dont do a partial but a complete job and if you follow the book, you should have no issues.

Age and treachery will always overcome youth and skill !!

3. Ohio Fishing Reports Moderator omcforever's Avatar
    And dont be tempted to soak in carb cleaner especially overnite. Emulsion/transfer and idle tubes are installed with a special adhesive and will be damaged if you do that and create all kinds of runability issues. Crossflows use rubber o-rings on the bowl drain screws(2 per carb) and 1 to retain the throttle roller on the middle carb..Follow the book. Some of the YouTube videos will get you into trouble. Good luck.
    Last edited by omcforever; 08-19-2020 at 01:42 AM.

4. Ohio Fishing Reports Moderator omcforever's Avatar

5. Ohio Fishing Reports Moderator omcforever's Avatar