Question New to rod building

I’m new to rod building and I’m look for some good quality rods that have good sensitivity and durable. I would like to build a good Texas rig rod and a drop shot rod first. Any recommendations on blanks and any tips/tricks will be greatly appreciated.

2. Member
    MHX has a great variety of blanks to choose from for any build
    Brian Wisniewski
    2023 Nitro Z21XL

3. Member
    MHX has some blanks that are good for some applications. I would not say they have sensitive blanks for Texas rigs or drop shot. Some brands you might want to look at is Rainshadow if you can find an eternity in the length you are looking for they are sensitive rods. Point Blank, North Fork Composite, Rod Geeks(St Croix blanks). Those are the only brands I have used that will say you can find a great for sensitivity. Others have highly recommended Phoenix, I havent built on one of them yet to say.

4. Member
    Mud hole has a ton of great videos to help you get started. You can call them and get someone on the phone to talk you through blank and component selection based on what you want to build.
    YouTube has a bunch of great videos too.
    2004 Ranger 519VX
    Yamaha VMAX 200HP OX66

5. Member
    You are probably going to hear a lot of opinions, a lot like which boat or truck or lawn mower is best. Read them through and go with your gut. I order from Mud Hole and use MHX blanks, but I'm not about to bash any of the other choices. I've just not used them. Mud Hole does have several how-to type videos.

6. Member
    Definitely watch some videos on YouTube, there's a lot of them out there. Mudhole has them and also some from Kevin Brotz at GetBit. I'd suggest getting all of your equipment and practicing wrapping to get that down especially before doing a dropshot rod...the first 3 or 4 guides from the tip can be kind of challenging.

7. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by willwork4fish View Post