Thread: Motor Covers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Motor Covers

I’ve been thinking about getting one of these. Are there any negatives to them That I need to know?

Do you care if your motor gets scuffed up like towing with a cover on your boat?

xpress x19, 200ho G2, aluminum sawtooth cut prop, paper sack tackle storage, ugly stik pro team, color c-lector

3. Member
    I would prefer it not get scuffed up, so if I understand you correctly, you are saying that the cover scuffs the motor?

4. Member
    I have the BPS cover. My boat sits outside under a metal carport. I don't tow with the cover on. Nice cover for the money.
    1989 Coleman Crawdad
    55 lb Minn Kota Endura Max

5. Member
    Tuffskins all day.

6. Member
    I have a tuffskins on my 2018 OptiMax. I keep the engine cowling waxed and have no scruffs.
    Brad Krone

7. Member
    I had a custom cover (boat and motor) made for my boat when i bought it in 2000. I've been trailering it covered for 20 years and no scuffs. If you buy a good one that has an inner liner you won't have to worry.

I looked long and hard at tuffskins for my motor...fish trees way too often that mar the motor...found a sweet deal on a practically new Merc factory cover.

I will say moving forward, all my rigs will have a motor cover.

PS: Make sure you get a running cover...not a storage cover. They are different. The running type cover has vents to allow for proper ventilation and airflow while under load.
    Been fishin' since I was 5 years old...Thanks Grandpa!

9. USAF and DOD retired Phoenix Jim's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Rangerdeepv View Post
    Tuffskins all day.
    this, worth every penny. Last two boats cowling looked new. Ordered my new cover before my current boat was delivered
    2018 Phoenix 920 Pro XP

10. Member
    Thanks for the input

11. Member
    One from Russell Performance Marine on my SHO. Very happy with it. Vented so always stays on.