Nitro z7 low rpms

Hey guys, I just tested a z7 with a 150 pro xs today. It seemed to run great but the rpm's only reached 5100 with the top speed being 51-52. it had a 24 tempest prop with no plugs. It also had a manual jackplate and I have zero experience with jackplates. There were three people and half a tank of gas with no gear in the boat. Any idea why the rpms and top speed would be low? Thanks

Did it jump up on plane OK? Did the nose plow or was it lifted up when running at 5100? How far up did you trim the motor?

USN Retired
    2020 Basscat Caracal
    2020 Mercury 225 ProXS 4s

3. Member
    It got on plane well and the front end was up at 5100. The guy said that is the way it has always performed. The trim gauge didn't work so I was guessing on having the boat trimmed up by looking at where the spray was coming from. The spray came up from behind me so I figured I had it trimmed up pretty high.

A 24p prop seems to much for the numbers given. Doesn't really scare me to think a 22p would get the rpm up, a better whole shot And more top end given more rpm. 3 people in my z8 w/250 is a lot of load.
    Mercury 250 proxs 2B115089

5. Member
    Thanks for the replies. I honestly don't mind the low top speed or the low rpms(longer engine life),I just hope it's got to do with the setup instead of the engine. Compression test is tomorrow.

6. Member