Ranger Trailer - 1992 - boat weight on center bunks only

Last year I had my trailer bunks re-carpeted on my 1992 451 trailer. I noticed the other day the outside bunks were sort of flopping and looked loose when the boat was launched. Checked today and both outside bunks are loose under the boat - I can move them - and they sit about 1/2 inch below the bottom of the boat. All the weight of the boat is being carried by the two long center bunks. Now I never checked before but is this normal??? there are two bolts for each set of bunk mounts and several bolt holes that would suggest adjustment is possible. Work was done by a Ranger Dealer now closed. Can I live with this setup or does this need to be addressed?? Any thoughts or suggestions appreciated.

2. Member
    If they are loose, they need to be tightened. The bottom two bunks are larger than the two top ones as they are designed to guide the boat to the front roller and support most of the weight. As an amateur, I would say take them snug to the hull and tighten them. They could assist the rear tie downs in keeping the boat centered. Loose is not good.

3. mikesxpress
    Been down this road. Ranger designed there trailers (until recently *past 3 years) to carry the weight of the boat on the two long center bunks. Explanation I got from the factory was it facilitates loading. Humm?

When I installed my Gatorbak bunk covers in 2015 it really showed the disparity on the outside bunks. I had an almost 3/8" gap between the bunk surfaces and the hull. I wanted even weight bearing support across all bunks as that makes the most mechanical sense. I added aluminum blocks between the bunk bracket and board to achieve even pressure. I flood my trailer and don't power load unless absolutely necessary. With this mod the boat centers on every load up and my hull is fully supported.

Quote Originally Posted by mikesxpress View Post