2000 Pro Craft 205

Ok guys. Im brand new to bass boats. Bought a 2000 Pro Craft 205 Merc 150 efi to fiah with my 2 sons (12&14). Boat seems solid, new seats, new carpet, 2 garmin 93sv’s. Clearly its no speedster but I think it may be able to do more. Has a 21p prop. No jack plate.
    Also not sure about fuel capacity, seems to not take but 10-12gals to fill up on 1/4 tank but I was told it had 44gal tank.
    I researched the bbc forums all over but I didnt see much specific to 2000 205. Esp with a 150.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

2. Member
    I think that boat can handle a 200 or a 225 motor
    Bill Perry
    Zwolle, LA (Toledo Bend)
    bpicinc_2000@yahoo.com
    2001 ZX-250 VMAX 225. HDS-9 Carbon, HDS-7Carbon, 3D Sonar, HB 998c hd si, Active Target, MG Tour Pro 36v, 12" Slide Master
    USN, USS Newport News CA-148

3. Member
    Thanks for the reply! It is rated for a 225, but the 150 is in great shape and I’m not looking for much more speed since the sons will be out in it in a year or 2. I would prefer to fine tune it as is for now and repower when needed if the rest of it stays solid.

4. Member
    That 150 efi is a good motor
    Bill Perry
    Zwolle, LA (Toledo Bend)
    bpicinc_2000@yahoo.com
    2001 ZX-250 VMAX 225. HDS-9 Carbon, HDS-7Carbon, 3D Sonar, HB 998c hd si, Active Target, MG Tour Pro 36v, 12" Slide Master
    USN, USS Newport News CA-148

5. Member
    Thats what I hear. Seems to be so far. Thats why I was wonder if i could make a prop change Or even move the motor up or down a hole and not suffer too much of a drop off on hole shot.

6. Electrical/Wiring/Trolling Motors Moderator CatFan's Avatar
    As said, the 150 EFI is a good motor, but it will never make that boat go fast.

Life and boat advice from somebody watching age 60 approaching:

12 and 14 year old kids will be gone in the blink of an eye. Forget making the boat go fast and put every effort into spending time with your kids.