2000 Optimax 225 DFI reduces power at 3000 RPM

Hello everyone,
    I'm a newbie to this forum, and I'm looking for some help on my 2000 Optimax 225 DFI. The motor runs fine and goes up to 4500 RPM for the first 5 minutes. Then it reduces the power to about 3000 RPM in which the speed is about 9 mph. If I give it more throttle, then it still doesn't go past 9 mph even the RPM goes high up.
    I replaced the fuel lines, fuel filters, air compressor, and spark plugs. I took the air injectors and fuel injectors out to a shop to get them serviced. I never replaced the fuel pumps before. Where should I look?
    Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by stevechumo
    The serial number is OT136125.
    It's on a 23 ft Winner boat, walkaround type.
    It happened either with only myself or multiple people.
    It ran well many times before. My top speed was 30 mph at maybe 5000 RPM (I don't remember exact RPM). Usually, I only ran 25 mph that's probably around 4500 RPM.
    The prop is 4 blades. It's always there since I bought the boat 2 years ago. I can't remember the prop size now.
    I am not sure what elevation that you mean, but I go at the ocean on calm days.
    Last edited by EuropeanAM; 06-19-2020 at 12:34 PM.

2. Member
    9 (NINE)MPH??

3. Member
    9 mph... differential ?
    Have you ever had the prop off ?
    What style hub? I'm not sure if the old style rubber hub prop would go on an opti...just a thought that it might be a spun hub

4. Member
    Yes. The power is reduced at 9 mph. I could go over 4500 RPM at about 25 mph for the first 5 minutes. So that means there's nothing wrong with the prop. If the prop has issues, then it wouldn't let me go past 9 mph at the beginning. I checked the prop and it's normal. There maybe something that stops working right after it's hot or under heavy load after awhile. That's either overheating, or fuel starvation, or heated coil, or computer cut...etc. that I don't know.

Lets start over:
    Serial number of the motor