Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

135 Ho Goes down

I have a 2020 1880 that is less than a year old. We were at Green River Lake yesterday and catching some really nice fish, motor was running like a top, but at idle I noticed it sounded like it had a rattle, I hollered at a buddy on his boat to watch the motor to make sure it was pissing right, everything was good as he followed me both at speed and idle. We fished until about noon, and it was hot, so we went in to the dock to go back to the rental house for a few hours. This area has a pretty good stretch of idle only speed to get into the marina, about 30 yards from the dock the motor really started rattling, heard a grind, and then it just quit. I tried to re-start, to no avail. I drop the trolling motor let my buddy off and told him to sink the trailer so we could hand load the boat. We got back to the house, I let the boat sit for about and hour and then went out to bump the motor, it made a whining sound and backfired. I am no mechanic, but being a fuel injected motor, it should no have done that. We cut our trip short and came home mad as hell, I bought new to avoid this very situation, not to mention Rude just went down on outboards. I do not for-see this being a small issue, I think something let go internally. I probably have less than 25 hours on the motor, so I will call tomorrow to see how big of a hassle this will turn into.

2. Member
    Shouldn't be a hassle at all, other than it shouldn't have happened, they will warranty it and make it good as new I'm sure. Hate your trip was cut short because of it.

3. Banned
    Sux but it’ll be ok

Man that sucks. But, I honestly don't think you will have an issue with the warranty. It is still very early on with the discontinuation to have any impact on warranty. I would be mad as hell too, especially if it happened on an out of town fishing trip.
    2021 Vexus 2080, Merc ProXs 200
    2019 Vexus 1980, Evinrude G2 150 H.O. - moved onto a new owner

5. Member