Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Plymouth, Pa
    Posts
    1,483

    Live scope black box question

    new to Garmin and just picked up livescope , so question is the Black box running power wires to battery is power always on or only when you turn your graph on or should be a on off switch installed . thanks for some info

  2. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    1,117
    #2
    I’ve read it needs a switch or it will drain your battery.

  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ofallon, MO
    Posts
    2,441
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris1978 View Post
    I’ve read it needs a switch or it will drain your battery.
    I've heard the same thing but the owner's manual says when you power off the graph, the livescope shuts down too? Still put mine on a switch!

  4. Member Fishysam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    5,839
    #4
    There is a small draw when graph is off. Some people don't use a boat everyday, or don't have the boat on a charger all the time, so simple solution is a switch, I broke my switch in a couple weeks, so I added a clamp on battery post, then a wing nut for just the livescope.
    Mercury 250 proxs 2B115089

  5. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    50
    #5
    I added Carling rocker switches to the bow for the Garmin 93SV and black box. Are you planning to power your black box from an existing fuse block, or run direct to the battery?

    If running direct to the battery you could add a surface mount breaker that acts as a switch as well. Hit the trip button and the circuit will be off. Reset the lever when you’re ready to fish for the day.
    https://www.bluesea.com/products/718...face_Mount_25A

    Run a short lead from your battery (+) to the breaker, then terminate the graph and black box power to the breaker. Keep your individual fuses in line with both the graph and black box power cords and you’ll be set. Since the breaker is 25A minimum, you’ll need at least 10AWG for the wiring to your power cords.
    Last edited by mikear; 05-28-2020 at 09:39 AM.

  6. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Hampton Roads, Virginia
    Posts
    135
    #6
    I mounted an inline amp meter on my black box and it draws half an amp always, and 2 amps when on. Definitely put it on a switch

  7. Member MonteSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Central Virginia
    Posts
    2,424
    #7
    My Ionic lithium has an App which shows draw. I t reads Zero when head unit is off. App reads in tenths so I would say IF it draws at all, its less than a tenth of an amp.

  8. Member BuzzBait53's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Huntsville Tx
    Posts
    922
    #8
    I just pull the fuse to be on the safe side.

  9. Member Todd Driscoll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Sam Rayburn
    Posts
    2,031
    #9
    Per the engineers, the draw when MFDs are off is around 20 mA.
    Garmin Pro Team