Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Fishin Kayak Questions

I have zero knowledge when it comes to fishing Kayaks. I have a 24 year old daughter who I would like to gift a fishing kayak. She wants to paddle, not pedal and will use it for both fishing and just paddling around small lakes and ponds. I would like to spend around $750. Educate me on brands and models to compare and good online dealers.

Do you want to be able to stand in it?

Marks Props 317-398-9294, 1850 East 225 South, Shelbyville, Indiana 46176 propellerman59@gmail.com http://www.marksprops.com/index.html

Weight is a major factor as well, as a sit on top is traditionally much heavier than a sit inside; but a sit on top fishes much better. I had the Ascend (from BPS) which met all my needs and was very affordable. I'm in a Pelican (peddle) now.
    2016 Nitro Z21
    "They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." Benjamin Franklin

Also, keep in mind, most kayaks do not come with a paddle. A good quality paddle can cost you. It's all about weight and materials, and length. Also is the kayak being transported in a truck bed, roof top rack?...other things to take into consideration. Will she need a kayak cart? (short answer...yes, unless she wants to carry/drag the kayak to and from where ever she's parked to the water/pond/creek). Expect to pay $75 or more for a quality cart...but you can build one yourself for about $20 or so from PVC and pool noodles.
    2016 Nitro Z21
    "They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." Benjamin Franklin