Thread: Why Dobyns?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Why Dobyns?

I have too much time on my hands right now so I'm researching for my next rod purchase. I see a lot of positive comments about Dobyns here, but they are almost unheard of in my area and there is nowhere to even look at them. They are expensive so I would like to know what makes them so great? I'm looking primarily at the Champion and Champion Extreme Series. What type of blanks do they use - how are the other components, and how well are they built compared to St. Croix, Loomis, etc.?

2. Member
    If not high end G Loomis there are tons of recomendations for ALX. Since the Falcon Cara is not available now and won't be US made when it comes back I've been on a Loomis kick but even though I have no experience look into the ALX plus i believe they are a board sponsor.

3. Banned
    I’m not sure why Dobyns get the praises they do. I’m sure it’s a quality built rod, but everyone I’ve picked felt terrible to me. Maybe it’s the few different models I picked up. Not sure.

4. Member
    I'm posting again as I have all Falcon Caras in my boat but in the last year I've bought two Loomis NRX casting, one GLX casting, one NRX spinning, and this week ordered another GLX casting and one more NRX spinning. Looking back I should have really considered ALX because of all the praise I hear on this site but I was blinded by the light of G Loomis. I will definitely buy a ALX next when time comes.

I've had a few Dobyns, they are nice rods but IMO Gloomis and St-Croix make a nicer rod, meaning a more sensitive, lighter, better graphite rod.

6. Member