Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Cedar for bunk boards

Does anybody use cedar for replacement bunk boards on their trailer or is there a better option for wooden bunks. I do want to stay with wood and carpet

Never tried it --- most use pressure treated.. but you need to be picky when buying.
    I've had good luck by picking good straight boards with the fewest knots that are still a little wet. When I get them home will C-clamp them all together, lay on a flat surface with some weight to dry. If one warps it will do it then.

3. Electrical/Wiring/Trolling Motors Moderator CatFan's Avatar
    Cedar is not as strong as other options. Bends easier and tends to want to check. Also tends to be a little bit brittle when drilling and cutting.
    If you have integrity, nothing else matters. If you don't have integrity,
    nothing else matters.​

4. Member
    I work with wood for a living and the only wood I would use other than Pressure Treated Pine would be Old Growth Cypress, and 4 pcs. of that would probably be over $600. PT is what I used when I redid mine.

5. mikesxpress
    KDAT lumber

I used cypress the last timeI replaced bunk boards. It was not much more than PT wood at Lowes but it was SIGNIFICANTLY better quality. Knots are weak points so you want to get a straight board with as few as possible.

USN Retired
    2020 Basscat Caracal
    2020 Mercury 225 ProXS 4s

7. Scraps
    Cedar, pretty soft and not as schtrong as yellow pine pressure treated. Don't complicate this.
    2017 Phoenix 819
    2016 200ProXS, s/n 2B359849, Mod 1200P73BD

8. Member
    Pressure treated wood is corrosive. Read below or any of the thousands of Google results/articles.
    https://8pointshome.com/modern-press...ber-corrosive/

Southern Yellow Pine is more than sufficient, no pressure treatment needed.

9. Member
    My 2002 Magic Tilt trailer came with Cypress bunks, still going strong.
    Mercury 2002 200hp Carbed Saltwater
    OT566776
    2002 Cape Horn 22' Bay

10. Banned