second brisket flat, still tough??

I put a 3.6 lb brisket flat on the weber smokey mountain at 8am. Temp was 225 degrees. Took 5 hours to reach internal temp of 159 degrees. I took the meat off the grill, double wrapped it in foil and added about 1 cup of beef broth around the brisket then back on the grill. Three hours later the internal temp was 201. Took the wrapped brisket off the grill and wrapped it in a towel then placed it inside a dry cooler for 3 hours. Once again the brisket came out tough. What I have read online that if it's tough then it's undercooked. Is this true? If so, do I put it back on the grill wrapped in tin foil? What internal temp should I shoot for on the longer cook? I have read about the tooth pick method to check for doneness. If it's still too tough for the toothpick then how much longer should I cook it and too what internal temp. Seems to me if I cook it longer it might come out over cooked. Thanks for what you know.

I am no expert but 8hr sounds like a long cook for 3.6 pounds. Did you leave enough fat on it so as not to dry out?.
    SeaArk ZX200DC Mercury 115 FourStroke

I can't find the link to the video but the best advice I have seen was don't go by temp except to get close. Push in a toothpick, if it feels the same as pushing into peanut butter then you are gold. And yes, push a toothpick into peanut butter as practice to get the feel.
    "If People Concentrated on the Really Important Things in Life, There'd be a Shortage of Fishing Poles." - Doug Larson
    "Peace is not the absence of turmoil but the presence of God" Jo-Ann Thomack

4. Member
    I left all the fat on as there wasn't much to start with.

5. Member
    never go by meat temp as a final say for brisket. as others have said... tooth pic method is the only right way. you can use the IT as a guideline about it. around 195 id do my 1st test.... 200...205... and have a feel for where its at and where i want.