Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Looking for a good chatterbait rod,

I have been having fish on chatterbaits getting unbuttoned and am looking for a good chatterbait rod, most likely a glass rod. What are you chatterbait experts using?

2. Member
    budget??

I am a rookie but love this rod... https://tackletrap.com/index.php?mai...ducts_id=13645 its also higher end so might not work.

anyways it has some fiberglass in it, but to me its still super sensitive, and you can feel the vibration of a chatterbait, you dont see alot of chatter about these rods and the price is part of that but they do the job
    Last edited by gear junkie; 03-17-2020 at 10:06 AM.

3. Member
    Not a fan of glass, best I've found so far is the 7'4 tatula elite mhrb, non glass big topwater rod.

4. Member
    Dobyns 736cb glass with 30-40 lb braid.

5. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by 5 by 3 View Post
    Dobyns 736cb glass with 30-40 lb braid.
    Yep. I usually use 17lb. fluoro though.

St. Croix Legend Tournament Sweeper Spinnerbait rod
    7’-0” MH Moderate Fast action rod
    Ecellent for chatterbaits, buzzbaits, swim jigs, and rhe spinnerbaits.
    BassCat Sabre FTD
    Mercury 150 Optimax
    "It's just fishing"

I just bought that 736CB from Dobyns as well. Hammered them on that rod at Toledo last weekend. It was fantastic.
    Cody // 2011 Phoenix 721

8. Member
    Shimano Expride 7'2" MH Glass composite rod for me.

I really like the Megabass Orochi XX and the MB Levante Diablo Spec R for bladed jigs.

NRX 853C this is about the only thing I use that rod for. Just the right mix of power, tip and sensitivity.

11. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by bCody View Post
    I just bought that 736CB from Dobyns as well. Hammered them on that rod at Toledo last weekend. It was fantastic.
    What weight cb were you using? I mostly use 1/2oz. tia

12. Member